PDA

View Full Version : linux 64bit OS again


Don McCarter
June 7th 04, 11:07 PM
If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.

I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.
The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.
I then booted to a Fedora Core1 disk and ran the install
until the HD was formatted.
I stopped the process, rebooted with Fedora Core2
and did a "Linux nousbstorage" install.
When I got to the format step I selected manual and
edited the "/boot" and "/" areas.
The rest of the install ran smoothly.
I now have a 64bit system running mostly x86_64 programs.

I am using the AMD64 3200 CPU, with a MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R MB
and an ATI 9600 pro video card.

Everything works except my Winfast TV system.
I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.
Gentoo worked OK for a short while then I would get
a corrupt file system error.
Mandrake likewise ran ok for several bootups then it gave
a "kernel panic" error.

Early 2 Riz
June 8th 04, 07:38 AM
"Don McCarter" > wrote in message
...
> If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.
>
> I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.
> The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
> drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.
> I then booted to a Fedora Core1 disk and ran the install
> until the HD was formatted.
> I stopped the process, rebooted with Fedora Core2
> and did a "Linux nousbstorage" install.
> When I got to the format step I selected manual and
> edited the "/boot" and "/" areas.
> The rest of the install ran smoothly.
> I now have a 64bit system running mostly x86_64 programs.
>
> I am using the AMD64 3200 CPU, with a MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R MB
> and an ATI 9600 pro video card.
>
> Everything works except my Winfast TV system.
> I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
> and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
> Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.
> Gentoo worked OK for a short while then I would get
> a corrupt file system error.
> Mandrake likewise ran ok for several bootups then it gave
> a "kernel panic" error.
>
>
>
>

If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system doesn't
work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS doesn't
like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment works.

baskitcaise
June 8th 04, 08:06 AM
Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
write:

>
> If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system
> doesn't
> work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS
> doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment
> works.

Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it :)

--
Mark
Iligitimi Non Carborundum!
Twixt hill and high water, N.Wales, UK
onfxvgpnvfr-ng-tzk-qbg-pb-hx

rstlne
June 8th 04, 09:27 AM
"baskitcaise" > wrote in message
...
> Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
> write:
>
> >
> > If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system
> > doesn't
> > work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS
> > doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment
> > works.
>
> Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it :)
>

I hate software driven hardware.. Cheap&Crap all in the perfect bundle

Post Replies Here Please
June 8th 04, 01:32 PM
>>>>> "rstlne" == rstlne > writes:

rstlne> "baskitcaise" > wrote in message
rstlne> ...
>> Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
>> write:
>>
>> >
>> > If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole
>> system > doesn't > work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment
>> just because the OS > doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS
>> where all of your equipment > works.
>>
>> Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it :)
>>

rstlne> I hate software driven hardware.. Cheap&Crap all in the
rstlne> perfect bundle

Closed source or win only software is a killer, and will be obselete
sooner than the hardware is obsolete. I have had to change or update
hardware on every system I have had because of driver problems, or
lack of driver support. This has been worst on Windows (DIFFERENT
VERSIONS) than Linux. I have noticed less win only hardware these days
and this is very good!

Whatever - find a card that works, or hack the driver to work ;-)).

Later

Alan

William W. Plummer
June 8th 04, 03:24 PM
"Post Replies Here Please" > wrote in message
...
> >>>>> "rstlne" == rstlne > writes:
>
> rstlne> "baskitcaise" > wrote in message
> rstlne> ...
> >> Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
> >> write:
> >>
> >> >
> >> > If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole
> >> system > doesn't > work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment
> >> just because the OS > doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS
> >> where all of your equipment > works.
> >>
> >> Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it :)
> >>
>
> rstlne> I hate software driven hardware.. Cheap&Crap all in the
> rstlne> perfect bundle
>
> Closed source or win only software is a killer, and will be obselete
> sooner than the hardware is obsolete. I have had to change or update
> hardware on every system I have had because of driver problems, or
> lack of driver support. This has been worst on Windows (DIFFERENT
> VERSIONS) than Linux. I have noticed less win only hardware these days
> and this is very good!

Bloated software requiring new hardware along with hardware that supports
new software features is an old game. I remember it being practiced with
the IBM 704/709/7094 back in the late '50s and early '60s. Don't expect
changes!

Randy Howard
June 8th 04, 04:24 PM
In article >,
says...
> If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.
>
> I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.

I have not been particularly impressed with FC1 or FC2, especially
when compared to SuSE, so consider me an official convert away from
the increasingly commercial and uncaring about individual users
RedHat.

> The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
> drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.

It's almost a certainty that you used the "automatic" partitioning
instead of doing it manually, which is one way RedHat installers
will mess up your life if you have Winodws installed on the
box already. :-) A copy of partition magic comes in handy too
if the Windows install is already (normally) taking up the
whole HD.

> I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
> and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
> Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.

Appeared to be? Did you run "file" on them to find out?
I have run both the server (SLES) version of x86_64 and
the "pro" 9.1 x86_64 version and both are excellent.

--
Randy Howard (2reply remove FOOBAR)

Don McCarter
June 8th 04, 05:26 PM
I said Suse 9.0 appeared to be running in 32bit instead of 64bit
because the only updated versions of KDE, Mozilla, etc that would
work were the i386 ones.
I like Suse and would install 9.1 if I could find the cd iso's for
the AMD64 bit version in something other that DVD.

Also my ARTEC scanner will not work with WinXP, my
HP printer will not work with WinXP64 so XP must not be
any good either,grin.



"Randy Howard" > wrote in message
.. .
> In article >,
> says...
> > If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.
> >
> > I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.
>
> I have not been particularly impressed with FC1 or FC2, especially
> when compared to SuSE, so consider me an official convert away from
> the increasingly commercial and uncaring about individual users
> RedHat.
>
> > The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
> > drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.
>
> It's almost a certainty that you used the "automatic" partitioning
> instead of doing it manually, which is one way RedHat installers
> will mess up your life if you have Winodws installed on the
> box already. :-) A copy of partition magic comes in handy too
> if the Windows install is already (normally) taking up the
> whole HD.
>
> > I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
> > and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
> > Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.
>
> Appeared to be? Did you run "file" on them to find out?
> I have run both the server (SLES) version of x86_64 and
> the "pro" 9.1 x86_64 version and both are excellent.
>
> --
> Randy Howard (2reply remove FOOBAR)
>

Only NoSpammers
June 10th 04, 09:07 PM
"Early 2 Riz" > wrote in message
...
>
> "Don McCarter" > wrote in message
> ...
> > If anyone is interested in a 64bit OS this one works for me.
> >
> > I installed Fedora Core2 on my AMD64 machine, with a little tweaking.
> > The FC2 programs harddrive format messed up the
> > drive so I had to reformat and reinstall WinXP64.
> > I then booted to a Fedora Core1 disk and ran the install
> > until the HD was formatted.
> > I stopped the process, rebooted with Fedora Core2
> > and did a "Linux nousbstorage" install.
> > When I got to the format step I selected manual and
> > edited the "/boot" and "/" areas.
> > The rest of the install ran smoothly.
> > I now have a 64bit system running mostly x86_64 programs.
> >
> > I am using the AMD64 3200 CPU, with a MSI K8T NEO-FIS2R MB
> > and an ATI 9600 pro video card.
> >
> > Everything works except my Winfast TV system.
> > I had previously tried Gentoo 2004.1, Mandrake AMD64 rc1
> > and Suse 9.0. for AMD64.
> > Suse ran OK but most of the programs appeared to be 32bit.
> > Gentoo worked OK for a short while then I would get
> > a corrupt file system error.
> > Mandrake likewise ran ok for several bootups then it gave
> > a "kernel panic" error.
> >
> >
> >
> >
>
> If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system doesn't
> work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS
doesn't
> like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment works.
>

The OP's concern on the Winfast TV could be caused by the setting and/or
unavailable hardware driver. For the later case, the OP is stuck until there
is a Linux driver for such a TV card, not the whole system doesn't work. To
some extend, some people will not use the Winfast TV card, yet the system
runs fine and smooth without any DOB. You may not like Linux OS; however, an
advice like that, just because the hardware does not work on the OS without
knowing the cause, will get you nowhere even on a Windows OS.

--
Mazi

Steven Kinch
July 5th 04, 11:02 PM
On Tue, 08 Jun 2004 08:06:19 +0100, baskitcaise wrote:

> Early 2 Riz adjusted his tin foil beanie and asbestos underwear to
> write:
>
>>
>> If your Winfast TV doesn't work, then you can say the whole system
>> doesn't
>> work. You can't disregard a piece of equipment just because the OS
>> doesn't like it. My advice, stick to an OS where all of your equipment
>> works.
>
> Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it :)
That would probably be Mandrake 10. No need to buy. Just download.

XS11E
July 6th 04, 04:51 AM
Steven Kinch > wrote in
:

>> Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it
>> :)
> That would probably be Mandrake 10. No need to buy. Just
> download.

I'm running Mandrake 10 64bit RC1. I downloaded the ISOs so it cost
only three blank CDs. It installed all my hardware except I had to
manually install my Canon S900 Photo printer, there was no driver so I
chose the S800, set resolution to 800x800 and everything works fine. I
also had to manually configure my Microtek scanner, Mandrake had
drivers for an almost identical model and it also works fine. No other
hardware required any tweaking except screen resolution and that was
easy once I found out how to do it.

Install time was less than 1/2 of the time to install XP32bit or
XP64bit or Longhorn whoknowswhatbit, none of which could install the
Canon Photoprinter, Microtek scanner OR my NIC, sound card or chipset
drivers.

It seems to me that Mandrake comes out ahead of Windows in installing
hardware.

I also tried SuSE and RedHat (actually Fedora project) 64 bit editions,
neither of which installed hardware nearly as well as Mandrake so if
you have hardware install problems, just try another disto....

Pseudo Namen
July 6th 04, 05:06 AM
"XS11E" > wrote in message
...
> Steven Kinch > wrote in
> :
>
>>> Name me one O/S where all hardware works 100% and I will buy it
>>> :)
>> That would probably be Mandrake 10. No need to buy. Just
>> download.
>
> I'm running Mandrake 10 64bit RC1. I downloaded the ISOs so it cost
> only three blank CDs. It installed all my hardware except I had to
> manually install my Canon S900 Photo printer, there was no driver so I
> chose the S800, set resolution to 800x800 and everything works fine. I
> also had to manually configure my Microtek scanner, Mandrake had
> drivers for an almost identical model and it also works fine. No other
> hardware required any tweaking except screen resolution and that was
> easy once I found out how to do it.
>
> Install time was less than 1/2 of the time to install XP32bit or
> XP64bit or Longhorn whoknowswhatbit, none of which could install the
> Canon Photoprinter, Microtek scanner OR my NIC, sound card or chipset
> drivers.
>
> It seems to me that Mandrake comes out ahead of Windows in installing
> hardware.
>
> I also tried SuSE and RedHat (actually Fedora project) 64 bit editions,
> neither of which installed hardware nearly as well as Mandrake so if
> you have hardware install problems, just try another disto....
>
>
>
>
>
>
>

The only problems I have with Mandrake 10 64bit for the AMD, is that is only
out for the Silver members. Plus, there is no support for it even then.

Mandrake is the best distro of Linux, but it doesn't take the place of
Windows for an ATI 9600XT or X800 online gaming system. There are so many
games written for the Windows Platform, and very few have been ported to
Linux.

And until Linux becomes completely point and click, it is not a viable OS
for the masses.

XS11E
July 6th 04, 05:30 AM
"Pseudo Namen" > wrote in
:

> The only problems I have with Mandrake 10 64bit for the AMD, is
> that is only out for the Silver members. Plus, there is no support
> for it even then.

I'm not a member of the club but the RC1 version is available to
everyone and it works.

> Mandrake is the best distro of Linux, but it doesn't take the
> place of Windows for an ATI 9600XT or X800 online gaming system.

I know nothing about gaming.

Pseudo Namen
July 6th 04, 06:01 AM
"XS11E" > wrote in message
...
> "Pseudo Namen" > wrote in
> :
>
>> The only problems I have with Mandrake 10 64bit for the AMD, is
>> that is only out for the Silver members. Plus, there is no support
>> for it even then.
>
> I'm not a member of the club but the RC1 version is available to
> everyone and it works.
>
>> Mandrake is the best distro of Linux, but it doesn't take the
>> place of Windows for an ATI 9600XT or X800 online gaming system.
>
> I know nothing about gaming.
>
>

I have Mandrake version 10 RC1, but I want the final release (you have to be
a silver member or greater to get that. I am a standard member. :o)
Gaming is so fun. I love Warcraft 3, Diblo 2, Deus Ex, The Sims, Simcity 4,
C&C Generals, etc.... The list is very large. :o)

Wes Newell
July 6th 04, 07:05 AM
On Mon, 05 Jul 2004 23:06:38 -0500, Pseudo Namen wrote:

> And until Linux becomes completely point and click, it is not a viable OS
> for the masses.

It's been a viable os for the masses for a few years now. First of the
masses don't have to install the OS. It comes preinstalled and completely
functionable. make all the people that buy pc's install windows and you'll
find that not many of the masses will be able to install it either. My
brother (one of the masses) has been using win for at least 12 years,
and couldn't reinstall win on his machine just the other day. But I'll
bet he could of gotten Linux installed (given the CD's) and he's never
even used it.

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

Wes Newell
July 6th 04, 07:09 AM
On Tue, 06 Jul 2004 06:05:22 +0000, Wes Newell wrote:

> On Mon, 05 Jul 2004 23:06:38 -0500, Pseudo Namen wrote:
>
>> And until Linux becomes completely point and click, it is not a viable OS
>> for the masses.
>
> It's been a viable os for the masses for a few years now. First of the
> masses don't have to install the OS. It comes preinstalled and completely
> functionable. make all the people that buy pc's install windows and you'll
> find that not many of the masses will be able to install it either. My
> brother (one of the masses) has been using win for at least 12 years,
> and couldn't reinstall win on his machine just the other day. But I'll
> bet he could of gotten Linux installed (given the CD's) and he's never
> even used it.

I just found this in the next NG.:-)

I just build a new PC, everything is blank right now.
After I use a Win98 bootdisk to get into DOS, then put my WinXP CD into
CD-ROM
when I start to run setup.exe from the WinXP CD
it says:"This program can only run in Windows environment"
How do you install WinXP onto a blank PC?

ps: I remember with Win2000, its CD offers an utility to create 4 floppy
disks
These disks can run from DOS environment.

I rest my case.:-)

--
Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

Post Replies Here Please
July 6th 04, 01:07 PM
A very good point, and very true. Even if they can get windows
installed they cannot get the drivers working correctly. I have a
friend highly ****ed because he could not get more than 256 colors,
and he brought the driver CD! Whatever. I told him he could download
the drivers from the net, and he said "I don't know how to do that".
Since he lives 800 miles away, I could not help him out, but he got
the local tech at his workplace to finish the install. This is only
one example but the list is very long.

The point is clear it is about per-install vs. self install. I can
remember when windows 98 came out the recommendation at the time was
don't install it but buy a computer with it already installed.

Whatever.


>>>>> "Wes" == Wes Newell > writes:

Wes> On Mon, 05 Jul 2004 23:06:38 -0500, Pseudo Namen wrote:
>> And until Linux becomes completely point and click, it is not a
>> viable OS for the masses.

Wes> It's been a viable os for the masses for a few years now. First
Wes> of the masses don't have to install the OS. It comes
Wes> preinstalled and completely functionable. make all the people
Wes> that buy pc's install windows and you'll find that not many of
Wes> the masses will be able to install it either. My brother (one of
Wes> the masses) has been using win for at least 12 years, and
Wes> couldn't reinstall win on his machine just the other day. But
Wes> I'll bet he could of gotten Linux installed (given the CD's) and
Wes> he's never even used it.

Wes> -- Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
Wes> http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

Post Replies Here Please
July 6th 04, 01:18 PM
>>>>> "Wes" == Wes Newell > writes:

Wes> On Tue, 06 Jul 2004 06:05:22 +0000, Wes Newell wrote:
>> On Mon, 05 Jul 2004 23:06:38 -0500, Pseudo Namen wrote:
>>> And until Linux becomes completely point and click, it is not a
>>> viable OS for the masses.
>> It's been a viable os for the masses for a few years now. First
>> of the masses don't have to install the OS. It comes preinstalled
>> and completely functionable. make all the people that buy pc's
>> install windows and you'll find that not many of the masses will
>> be able to install it either. My brother (one of the masses) has
>> been using win for at least 12 years, and couldn't reinstall win
>> on his machine just the other day. But I'll bet he could of gotten
>> Linux installed (given the CD's) and he's never even used it.

Wes> I just found this in the next NG.:-)

Wes> I just build a new PC, everything is blank right now. After I
Wes> use a Win98 bootdisk to get into DOS, then put my WinXP CD into
Wes> CD-ROM when I start to run setup.exe from the WinXP CD it
Wes> says:"This program can only run in Windows environment" How do
Wes> you install WinXP onto a blank PC?

Wes> ps: I remember with Win2000, its CD offers an utility to create
Wes> 4 floppy disks These disks can run from DOS environment.

Wes> I rest my case.:-)

Wes> -- Abit KT7-Raid (KT133) Tbred B core CPU @2400MHz (24x100FSB)
Wes> http://mysite.verizon.net/res0exft/cpu.htm

You can download the program from M$ web site that will make the XP
install disks. I think it is six disks total. This is painful but it
works. Besides cutting the grass this is the only time my 19 year son
is useful. ;-)

Your point is very clear few folks have a clue, and actually the XP cd
should boot on most newer computers, but it may not.

I would never use Windows, but my job requires Windows 2000. I was
ordered by the management that I could not even connect to the network
with my Linux laptop. Apparently they have some type of network
software that can detect Linux computers and the tech will physically
disconnect your computer from the network. Then you will get a very
nasty e-mail or memo from the IT folks. Whatever again.

Found out the other day one of the techs at work was running Linux
without the adminstrations permission.

Whatever