PDA

View Full Version : Non bootable PCI IDE controller?


Mark S
February 18th 04, 10:16 PM
Does anybody know if there is such a thing as a PCI IDE controller,
preferably UDMA 100/133?
Reason.....
I have a Compaq Proliant 5000 running Win2K SVR, and I am trying to put 4
120Gb IDE HDD's in it. I have tried various PCI IDE RAID cards in it, both
with the SCSI Raid controller in and out of it. The only thing that happens
is: Boot machine, run the config, doesn't detect HDD but does detect the PCI
card. press F1 to force it to boot, and you get it to run Win setup from the
CD. It goes all the way through setup before restarting, and then fails
again at boot!
Is there anyway that I can configure the "bios" to accept/ignore the PCI
card but allow Win2K to access it? or create a configuration file for the
Smart setup to use?
Or am I wasting my time????
please bear in mind.... 120Gb IDE HDD =£65 ($100) Very Large SCA HDD =£big

Many thanks for reading, and many thanks in advance

Mark S

NuT CrAcKeR
February 19th 04, 06:07 AM
cant be done. that server does not support the int13 thingy that is needed
for IDE controllers to boot with.

give up now...

LC

"Mark S" > wrote in message
...
> Does anybody know if there is such a thing as a PCI IDE controller,
> preferably UDMA 100/133?
> Reason.....
> I have a Compaq Proliant 5000 running Win2K SVR, and I am trying to put 4
> 120Gb IDE HDD's in it. I have tried various PCI IDE RAID cards in it, both
> with the SCSI Raid controller in and out of it. The only thing that
happens
> is: Boot machine, run the config, doesn't detect HDD but does detect the
PCI
> card. press F1 to force it to boot, and you get it to run Win setup from
the
> CD. It goes all the way through setup before restarting, and then fails
> again at boot!
> Is there anyway that I can configure the "bios" to accept/ignore the PCI
> card but allow Win2K to access it? or create a configuration file for the
> Smart setup to use?
> Or am I wasting my time????
> please bear in mind.... 120Gb IDE HDD =£65 ($100) Very Large SCA HDD =£big
>
> Many thanks for reading, and many thanks in advance
>
> Mark S
>
>

Mark S
February 19th 04, 06:42 PM
"NuT CrAcKeR" > wrote in message
...
> cant be done. that server does not support the int13 thingy that is needed
> for IDE controllers to boot with.
>
> give up now...
>
> LC
>

Thanks...... even if it doesn't have the int13 thingy, will it support IDE
without boot?

Mark S

VinceV
February 19th 04, 10:59 PM
OR

Purchase a SCSI drive to install the operating system on (and boot
from) and use the IDE drives for storage...

VinceV

"NuT CrAcKeR" > wrote in message >...
> cant be done. that server does not support the int13 thingy that is needed
> for IDE controllers to boot with.
>
> give up now...
>
> LC
>
> "Mark S" > wrote in message
> ...
> > Does anybody know if there is such a thing as a PCI IDE controller,
> > preferably UDMA 100/133?
> > Reason.....
> > I have a Compaq Proliant 5000 running Win2K SVR, and I am trying to put 4
> > 120Gb IDE HDD's in it. I have tried various PCI IDE RAID cards in it, both
> > with the SCSI Raid controller in and out of it. The only thing that
> happens
> > is: Boot machine, run the config, doesn't detect HDD but does detect the
> PCI
> > card. press F1 to force it to boot, and you get it to run Win setup from
> the
> > CD. It goes all the way through setup before restarting, and then fails
> > again at boot!
> > Is there anyway that I can configure the "bios" to accept/ignore the PCI
> > card but allow Win2K to access it? or create a configuration file for the
> > Smart setup to use?
> > Or am I wasting my time????
> > please bear in mind.... 120Gb IDE HDD =£65 ($100) Very Large SCA HDD =£big
> >
> > Many thanks for reading, and many thanks in advance
> >
> > Mark S
> >
> >

Sharmon
February 19th 04, 11:31 PM
Ditto , Give it up it will not work unless you swap out the system
board for a System Pro or maybe a DL310 or DL 140 board which does
support ATA raid but will not fit without duct tape and spit and maybe
a hammer and beer

>cant be done. that server does not support the int13 thingy that is needed
>for IDE controllers to boot with.
>
>give up now...
>
>LC
>
>"Mark S" > wrote in message
...
>> Does anybody know if there is such a thing as a PCI IDE controller,
>> preferably UDMA 100/133?
>> Reason.....
>> I have a Compaq Proliant 5000 running Win2K SVR, and I am trying to put 4
>> 120Gb IDE HDD's in it. I have tried various PCI IDE RAID cards in it, both
>> with the SCSI Raid controller in and out of it. The only thing that
>happens
>> is: Boot machine, run the config, doesn't detect HDD but does detect the
>PCI
>> card. press F1 to force it to boot, and you get it to run Win setup from
>the
>> CD. It goes all the way through setup before restarting, and then fails
>> again at boot!
>> Is there anyway that I can configure the "bios" to accept/ignore the PCI
>> card but allow Win2K to access it? or create a configuration file for the
>> Smart setup to use?
>> Or am I wasting my time????
>> please bear in mind.... 120Gb IDE HDD =£65 ($100) Very Large SCA HDD =£big
>>
>> Many thanks for reading, and many thanks in advance
>>
>> Mark S
>>
>>
>

Mark S
February 21st 04, 04:20 AM
"VinceV" > wrote in message
om...
> OR
>
> Purchase a SCSI drive to install the operating system on (and boot
> from) and use the IDE drives for storage...
>
> VinceV
>
This is what I was hoping to do, I have two SCSI hdd's in the system, with
win2k svr installed all running nicely, and I wanted to use four 120Gb IDE
HDD's as storage, but cannot get the system to boot to the SCSI drive, am I,
as the Nut Cracker suggest, flogging a dead horse?

Mark S

Aidan Grey
February 21st 04, 04:40 PM
Run SmartStart with the PCI IDE controller in the system. Check which
controller is set to be the BOOT controller.

Also, are you using the onboard SCSI controller, or a SMART RAID
controller for these SCSI drive.

I also suggest that you install Win2K on the SCSI drives with no IDE
drives connected. After that, create extended partitions on the IDE drives
and only put logical drives on them.

It may or may not make a difference which PCI slot you put the PCI IDE
controller in as well.

Aidan Grey


On Sat, 21 Feb 2004 03:20:18 +0000 (UTC), Mark S wrote:

>
>"VinceV" > wrote in message
om...
>> OR
>>
>> Purchase a SCSI drive to install the operating system on (and boot
>> from) and use the IDE drives for storage...
>>
>> VinceV
>>
>This is what I was hoping to do, I have two SCSI hdd's in the system, with
>win2k svr installed all running nicely, and I wanted to use four 120Gb IDE
>HDD's as storage, but cannot get the system to boot to the SCSI drive, am I,
>as the Nut Cracker suggest, flogging a dead horse?
>
>Mark S
>
>