PDA

View Full Version : Proliant 1500 + Linux = grief > many questions


beldar
January 18th 04, 07:20 PM
Proliant 1500R dual ppro200, 512ram, 5x4.3gb, Matrox MGA 2064 8meg video

I've built it using SmartStart 4.70 that came with the box. An install
of MDK 9.0 resulted in the slowest box on this planet. Fully 9 minutes
for KDE to load! Good Gawd! Wiped the whole thing, including ROM,
clean and restarted the rebuild. Got to the point where I'm attempting
to install the OS and stuff gets interesting.
1. It seems that setting the OS in smartstart to UnixWare/Linux results
in blksize=512kb. Would this be a problem? Isn't blksize normally set
to 1024kb?
2. Somehow in the course of the restarts I've managed to fry processor
#2. This is a first for me in 10 years of farting around with boxen of
various sorts. Could it be the VRM that has been toasted? Would the
BIOS inform that it was the VRM or not during the post? Do I need a
processor of the same steppnig level as a replacement?
3. During install of MDk9, I'm looking at the kernel messages and see
an error indicating using RAMDISK is impossible due to low memory. The
kernel is seeing only 16mb despite 512M being detected and initialized
by the Compaq bios. Passing kernel messages such as expert mem=512M, or
linux mem=512M results in a kernel panic where no root fs is found on
01:03 which I don't think is the cdrom.

Much confusion here. Any help or pointers appreciated.

beldar
January 18th 04, 08:27 PM
beldar wrote:
> Proliant 1500R dual ppro200, 512ram, 5x4.3gb, Matrox MGA 2064 8meg video
>
> I've built it <snip>

now if I had just read a little more thoroughly through the postings!
discovered the thread about the 2500/RH9 that has assisted me greatly
thanks for picking that nit VinceV

NuT CrAcKeR
January 19th 04, 12:19 AM
Yer lucky to have that Dual PPro board... those bloody things are rare. I
spent the better part of a year bidding on them on ebay... could never
justify spending $250 on one of those things...

You should also be pleased to know that your dual board supports the PII-OD
chips... (333Mhz PPro w/512K fullspeed L2 Cache...) in an SMP configuration.
A nice little boost for you if you can find the chips.

Cheers,

LC

"beldar" > wrote in message
.cable.rogers.com...
> beldar wrote:
> > Proliant 1500R dual ppro200, 512ram, 5x4.3gb, Matrox MGA 2064 8meg video
> >
> > I've built it <snip>
>
> now if I had just read a little more thoroughly through the postings!
> discovered the thread about the 2500/RH9 that has assisted me greatly
> thanks for picking that nit VinceV