PDA

View Full Version : Disable Display Driver CPL ?


IDAssociates Inc.
October 25th 03, 01:20 AM
52.16 is loading NVCPL.DLL at startup up. I have deleted it out of the RUN
setting in the registry as I have in all other prior NV drivers and in this
case it is reloaded all the time. Even using 3d party start up managers.
It is also shown ion the key as nvstartup and nvdaemon. Cant find an NV
startup file yet I have located the nvcpl.dll file.

Anyone care to take a stab at how to prevent this from loading at statup
OTHER than disabling it an MSCONFIG ?

PRIVATE1964
October 25th 03, 01:58 AM
Why not just disable it in MSCONFIG? That will keep it from loading, and if
you want to enable it in the future you can. If not then you can delete it here
in the registry, but its the same thing as using MSCONFIG

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run]

IDAssociates Inc.
October 25th 03, 02:03 AM
I agree. But for compulsive computer interest I have done this and deleted
it from the key you noted. Then rebooted AND it reappears in the same spot.
Now that is odd. I think this new driver has a hard to find startup
location somewhere.



"PRIVATE1964" > wrote in message
...
> Why not just disable it in MSCONFIG? That will keep it from loading,
and if
> you want to enable it in the future you can. If not then you can delete it
here
> in the registry, but its the same thing as using MSCONFIG
>
> [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run]

IDAssociates Inc.
October 25th 03, 02:08 AM
Well I did an experiment and unchecked it in msconfig startup folder. AND
it reappears after a reboot. Hmmm. Something tells me that NV has
determined it needs to be there. Still looking for the startup area.



"IDAssociates Inc." > wrote in message
news:[email protected]
> I agree. But for compulsive computer interest I have done this and
deleted
> it from the key you noted. Then rebooted AND it reappears in the same
spot.
> Now that is odd. I think this new driver has a hard to find startup
> location somewhere.
>
>
>
> "PRIVATE1964" > wrote in message
> ...
> > Why not just disable it in MSCONFIG? That will keep it from loading,
> and if
> > you want to enable it in the future you can. If not then you can delete
it
> here
> > in the registry, but its the same thing as using MSCONFIG
> >
> > [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run]
>
>

PRIVATE1964
October 25th 03, 03:15 AM
If you are using Rivatuner that will turn it on depending on the
options picked even if you disable it with MSCONFIG

IDAssociates Inc.
October 25th 03, 03:29 AM
Using coolbits although I typically don't overclock. Wondering if that is
the cause as well ?



"PRIVATE1964" > wrote in message
...
> If you are using Rivatuner that will turn it on depending on
the
> options picked even if you disable it with MSCONFIG

Biz
October 25th 03, 03:31 AM
Doesnt it have to be launching on startup so you can get at the nVidia
graphics properties? If its not there(corrupted) I believe it causes a BSOD
"IDAssociates Inc." > wrote in message
news:[email protected]
> Using coolbits although I typically don't overclock. Wondering if that is
> the cause as well ?
>
>
>
> "PRIVATE1964" > wrote in message
> ...
> > If you are using Rivatuner that will turn it on depending on
> the
> > options picked even if you disable it with MSCONFIG
>
>

IDAssociates Inc.
October 25th 03, 03:36 AM
Nope. I put nvcpl.dll on the desktop and rebooted without problems. And of
course it was still in the startup file in msconfig.



"Biz" > wrote in message
...
> Doesnt it have to be launching on startup so you can get at the nVidia
> graphics properties? If its not there(corrupted) I believe it causes a
BSOD
> "IDAssociates Inc." > wrote in message
> news:[email protected]
> > Using coolbits although I typically don't overclock. Wondering if that
is
> > the cause as well ?
> >
> >
> >
> > "PRIVATE1964" > wrote in message
> > ...
> > > If you are using Rivatuner that will turn it on depending
on
> > the
> > > options picked even if you disable it with MSCONFIG
> >
> >
>
>

PRIVATE1964
October 25th 03, 03:52 AM
Coolbits won't work at bootup, unless NVCPL is loaded. Coolbits needs
it loaded to set your overclock, but it doesn't turn it on if its not loaded.

IDAssociates Inc.
October 25th 03, 03:59 AM
So it seems that this driver version has its own internal startup file which
causes the loading. I wonder why that is. I dont really need to use this
version as 45.23 runs just fine but seeming;y a bit slower than this one on
my GF3 classic.


"PRIVATE1964" > wrote in message
...
> Coolbits won't work at bootup, unless NVCPL is loaded. Coolbits
needs
> it loaded to set your overclock, but it doesn't turn it on if its not
loaded.