PDA

View Full Version : GA-6BXDS and Geforce2(agp) doesnt works


Nico Eisold
May 16th 04, 02:46 PM
i tried to install a Geforce2 mx400 on my giagabyte 6bxds board but it
doesnt works the board gives out a bepp code (long short short short) wich
means a graphic fault .
the graphic card works fine on an older board.

what's wrong with the mainboard??

Alien Zord
May 16th 04, 03:31 PM
"Nico Eisold" > wrote in message
...
> i tried to install a Geforce2 mx400 on my giagabyte 6bxds board but it
> doesnt works the board gives out a bepp code (long short short short) wich
> means a graphic fault .
> the graphic card works fine on an older board.
>
> what's wrong with the mainboard??
>
>
Nothing's wrong with the mobo. It was designed for 3.3V AGP2x standard
whereas your GeForce2 is 1.5V AGP4x. Some AGP4x cards can be switched to
3.3V, either automatically or via a jumper, some can't. Yours obviously
can't. Simple.

Dimitris
May 16th 04, 06:13 PM
"Nico Eisold" > wrote in message >...
> i tried to install a Geforce2 mx400 on my giagabyte 6bxds board but it
> doesnt works the board gives out a bepp code (long short short short) wich
> means a graphic fault .
> the graphic card works fine on an older board.
>
> what's wrong with the mainboard??

Actually i had tried a geforce2mx (cant remember if it was 400 or
plain mx) and it work with that board(dual cpu right?). Since the
graphic card works on another board(which has agp1x or 2x??) it is
kind of weird. Ensure that the graphic card is firmly put in and that
little knob at the end of the AGP slot is securing the card correctly.
I still remember that i was getting beep errors with another graphic
card because it wasnt put in firmly, though it looked ok. Removing and
reputting it and pushing enough but gently make it work.
If you were using a PCI card prior to, check in bios to see that boot
from AGP is enabled. Also the AGP slot may have become dirty and
collect dust and fuzz. Use some sort of cleaning fluid with an ear
button if this is the case.

Nico Eisold
May 16th 04, 07:29 PM
> (dual cpu right?)

yes dual PIII 450Mhz

> Ensure that the graphic card is firmly put in and that little knob at the
....

there is no knob, and it sits right in the AGP port

> If you were using a PCI card prior to, check in bios to see that boot
> from AGP is enabled.

i had restet the bios to factory default

>Also the AGP slot may have become dirty and collect dust and fuzz. Use
some sort of cleaning fluid with an ear ..

no its clean

Dimitris
May 17th 04, 07:07 AM
">
> there is no knob, and it sits right in the AGP port
>

There must be something that secures the agp card. All the gigabyte
boards, since 1998 have it.

Other tips:
Go to bios, disable fast writes, set agp aperture size to equal that
of your graphic card memory(if it is a geforce2mx with 32mb then set
agp aperture to 32mb). If you have more than 512mb of main memory, you
can set agp aperture to 128mb.

Have you updated to the latest bios? Only the latest bios gives you
option to change the agp aperture size.

Have you test any other agp graphic card with this motherboard?

Nico Eisold
May 17th 04, 06:28 PM
> There must be something that secures the agp card. All the gigabyte
> boards, since 1998 have it.

the board is fron 1998


> Other tips:
> Go to bios, disable fast writes, set agp aperture size to equal that
> of your graphic card memory(if it is a geforce2mx with 32mb then set
> agp aperture to 32mb). If you have more than 512mb of main memory, you
> can set agp aperture to 128mb.

i'll try

> Have you updated to the latest bios? Only the latest bios gives you
> option to change the agp aperture size.

i'll do

> Have you test any other agp graphic card with this motherboard?

no

Alien Zord
May 17th 04, 06:50 PM
"Dimitris" > wrote in message
m...
> Other tips:
> Go to bios,
>
>
If all he gets is beep codes how can he go into BIOS?

Alien Zord
May 17th 04, 06:53 PM
"Nico Eisold" > wrote in message
...
> > Have you test any other agp graphic card with this motherboard?
>
> no
>
>
Have you ever seen this board working?

Nico Eisold
May 17th 04, 07:01 PM
> Have you ever seen this board working?

i had a elsa erazor II 16mb (pci) card before

Nico Eisold
May 17th 04, 07:01 PM
> If all he gets is beep codes how can he go into BIOS?

i have a elsa erazor II 16mb (pci) card for that mobo

Alien Zord
May 17th 04, 08:16 PM
"Nico Eisold" > wrote in message
...
> > Have you ever seen this board working?
>
> i had a elsa erazor II 16mb (pci) card before
>
>
No other AGP card then?

I have 2 machines here based on 6BXDS. One is a file server (rev. 1.7)
running Matrox G400 and the other is an engineering support PC (rev. 1.6)
running Matrox G100, both using BIOS F1. I don't have a GeForce2 card but I
do have an original GeForce card, Creative Labs CT6971 (I think it was
called the Annihilator) and that runs perfectly in the engineering PC and an
128MB Inno3D Tornado GeForce4 MX440 that also runs perfectly. So its either
your video card or the AGP slot.

Dimitris
May 18th 04, 07:22 PM
"Nico Eisold" > wrote in message >...
> > If all he gets is beep codes how can he go into BIOS?
>
> i have a elsa erazor II 16mb (pci) card for that mobo

Exactly. I assumed somehow that he hasnt use an agp card before, and
he was using a PCI card prior to the agp geforce. Zord must take a
look at one of my previous messages in this thread.