PDA

View Full Version : SLI power questions


John
November 14th 08, 08:58 PM
My set up is this
O/S Vista 32 sp1 all hot fixes
CPU AMD 6000+ 3.0
M/B ASUS Crosshair
Ram Corsair xm2 DDR2 800 4 gigs (4 sticks 1 gig each )
PSU Corsair 620HX
Cards 2 same Foxconn o/c 8800GTX in SLI
Drives 2 Seagate Barracudas in raid 0
Optical 2 dvd writers
Fans 6 case fans running 100%
Display 24" V7
Drivers are all up to date. SLI enabled in ntune.
Bios is up to date on M/B

Ok question is this.:

I have each card hooked up to the PSU with it's own cord. No other items
draw power off of them. I was wondering is this PSU is enough to power them.
I have played COD4 max setting 1920 x 1200 and get 70-91 average in
multiplayer with about 24 players total( these fps are in game not fraps). I
do see drops to 50 when moving around from time to time. I played for about
a hour and I haven't had any restarts or glitches. I was told that my FPS
should stay in the 91. I was told my PSU can run them but not correctly. Can
any one give some feed back if my system could run these cards good. I just
installed the second card last week. Crysis FPS is about 35 with settings
1920 x 1200 2x anti and Gamer settings.

First of One[_2_]
November 14th 08, 11:25 PM
Insufficient power manifests itself as hangups, crashes, random reboots or
visual artifacts (e.g. random checkered pattern on all textures). It doesn't
cause the card to throttle down.

Who the hell told that your FPS should stay at 91 fps consistently?

--
"War is the continuation of politics by other means.
It can therefore be said that politics is war without
bloodshed while war is politics with bloodshed."


"John" > wrote in message
...
> My set up is this
> O/S Vista 32 sp1 all hot fixes
> CPU AMD 6000+ 3.0
> M/B ASUS Crosshair
> Ram Corsair xm2 DDR2 800 4 gigs (4 sticks 1 gig each )
> PSU Corsair 620HX
> Cards 2 same Foxconn o/c 8800GTX in SLI
> Drives 2 Seagate Barracudas in raid 0
> Optical 2 dvd writers
> Fans 6 case fans running 100%
> Display 24" V7
> Drivers are all up to date. SLI enabled in ntune.
> Bios is up to date on M/B
>
> Ok question is this.:
>
> I have each card hooked up to the PSU with it's own cord. No other items
> draw power off of them. I was wondering is this PSU is enough to power
> them. I have played COD4 max setting 1920 x 1200 and get 70-91 average in
> multiplayer with about 24 players total( these fps are in game not fraps).
> I do see drops to 50 when moving around from time to time. I played for
> about a hour and I haven't had any restarts or glitches. I was told that
> my FPS should stay in the 91. I was told my PSU can run them but not
> correctly. Can any one give some feed back if my system could run these
> cards good. I just installed the second card last week. Crysis FPS is
> about 35 with settings 1920 x 1200 2x anti and Gamer settings.

W????n S.
November 15th 08, 05:58 AM
"John" > wrote in message
...
> My set up is this
> O/S Vista 32 sp1 all hot fixes
> CPU AMD 6000+ 3.0
> M/B ASUS Crosshair
> Ram Corsair xm2 DDR2 800 4 gigs (4 sticks 1 gig each )
> PSU Corsair 620HX
> Cards 2 same Foxconn o/c 8800GTX in SLI
> Drives 2 Seagate Barracudas in raid 0
> Optical 2 dvd writers
> Fans 6 case fans running 100%
> Display 24" V7
> Drivers are all up to date. SLI enabled in ntune.
> Bios is up to date on M/B
>
> Ok question is this.:
>
> I have each card hooked up to the PSU with it's own cord. No other items
> draw power off of them. I was wondering is this PSU is enough to power
> them. I have played COD4 max setting 1920 x 1200 and get 70-91 average in
> multiplayer with about 24 players total( these fps are in game not fraps).
> I do see drops to 50 when moving around from time to time. I played for
> about a hour and I haven't had any restarts or glitches. I was told that
> my FPS should stay in the 91. I was told my PSU can run them but not
> correctly. Can any one give some feed back if my system could run these
> cards good. I just installed the second card last week. Crysis FPS is
> about 35 with settings 1920 x 1200 2x anti and Gamer settings.

Holy christ, how much did all that cost anyway. curious. : )

John
November 15th 08, 07:47 AM
mmmmm The whole set up at the time I got it was a little over $2000 about
year and a half now. I just got the 2nd video card from e-bay. @ time I
couldn't spend the extra 500 bucks for the 2nd card. I shoved everything in
a old antec server case. This set up now I bet would all most be cut by 30 %
in cost.......lol got to love it.
"John" > wrote in message
...
> My set up is this
> O/S Vista 32 sp1 all hot fixes
> CPU AMD 6000+ 3.0
> M/B ASUS Crosshair
> Ram Corsair xm2 DDR2 800 4 gigs (4 sticks 1 gig each )
> PSU Corsair 620HX
> Cards 2 same Foxconn o/c 8800GTX in SLI
> Drives 2 Seagate Barracudas in raid 0
> Optical 2 dvd writers
> Fans 6 case fans running 100%
> Display 24" V7
> Drivers are all up to date. SLI enabled in ntune.
> Bios is up to date on M/B
>
> Ok question is this.:
>
> I have each card hooked up to the PSU with it's own cord. No other items
> draw power off of them. I was wondering is this PSU is enough to power
> them. I have played COD4 max setting 1920 x 1200 and get 70-91 average in
> multiplayer with about 24 players total( these fps are in game not fraps).
> I do see drops to 50 when moving around from time to time. I played for
> about a hour and I haven't had any restarts or glitches. I was told that
> my FPS should stay in the 91. I was told my PSU can run them but not
> correctly. Can any one give some feed back if my system could run these
> cards good. I just installed the second card last week. Crysis FPS is
> about 35 with settings 1920 x 1200 2x anti and Gamer settings.

Impmon[_2_]
November 16th 08, 03:00 AM
On Fri, 14 Nov 2008 17:25:27 -0500, "First of One" >
wrote:

>Insufficient power manifests itself as hangups, crashes, random reboots or
>visual artifacts (e.g. random checkered pattern on all textures). It doesn't
>cause the card to throttle down.

Other factor will cause the video to throttle down. This includes but
not limited to high setting within the game, background tasks,
improper or mismatched speed settings within BIOS (if user tweaked
it), and many more.

> Who the hell told that your FPS should stay at 91 fps consistently?

Probably the same Geek Squad who told me I need to match the printer
model to the PC model. They couldn't find a Kodak model PC when I
told them I was buying Kodak printer and suggested they find a
matching PC. Printer was for my parent's digital camera with direct
connect and recharge feature.

Ed Medlin[_4_]
November 16th 08, 04:36 PM
"John" > wrote in message
...
> My set up is this
> O/S Vista 32 sp1 all hot fixes
> CPU AMD 6000+ 3.0
> M/B ASUS Crosshair
> Ram Corsair xm2 DDR2 800 4 gigs (4 sticks 1 gig each )
> PSU Corsair 620HX
> Cards 2 same Foxconn o/c 8800GTX in SLI
> Drives 2 Seagate Barracudas in raid 0
> Optical 2 dvd writers
> Fans 6 case fans running 100%
> Display 24" V7
> Drivers are all up to date. SLI enabled in ntune.
> Bios is up to date on M/B
>
> Ok question is this.:
>
> I have each card hooked up to the PSU with it's own cord. No other items
> draw power off of them. I was wondering is this PSU is enough to power
> them. I have played COD4 max setting 1920 x 1200 and get 70-91 average in
> multiplayer with about 24 players total( these fps are in game not fraps).
> I do see drops to 50 when moving around from time to time. I played for
> about a hour and I haven't had any restarts or glitches. I was told that
> my FPS should stay in the 91. I was told my PSU can run them but not
> correctly. Can any one give some feed back if my system could run these
> cards good. I just installed the second card last week. Crysis FPS is
> about 35 with settings 1920 x 1200 2x anti and Gamer settings.

620W should be fine if that is indeed the actual wattage of the PSU. Many
PSU manufacturers rate their PSUs by maximum start-up wattage and not actual
running wattage. I have 2 EVGA 768mb DDR3 8800 GTX Superclocked cards in SLI
and use a PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750W SLI PSU that has a startup
capacity of about 850W and 12v rail of 65a. This PSU has the 4 dedicated 12v
connectors for the 2 video cards and I don't have to use any of the
converter cables and it is completely silent. I don't see anything in your
information that would make me think you have any problems. It is a good
idea to uninstall and reinstall the latest drivers after adding the new card
and then activating SLI in the Nvidia control panel. (a restart is required
to completely activate SLI) Weak 12v rails are the main issue with the 8800s
in SLI.


Ed

Timelord
November 16th 08, 05:50 PM
I have an Nvidia N9800GX2 card and it has two GPU's on it and was wondering
if this is the equivalent of SLi because in the Nvidia Control Panel it
recomends that i set it as Multi GPU!! and have done so. I would like to fit
another of these cards to SLi it but my mobo is Crossfire.
IN COD4 settings it is set as Dual Video Card and works fine.
I have a Coolermaster Real Power 1250watt PSU, perhaps this is overkill but
better to be safe than sorry.
What are your thoughts on this.

Phil.

"John" > wrote in message
...
> My set up is this
> O/S Vista 32 sp1 all hot fixes
> CPU AMD 6000+ 3.0
> M/B ASUS Crosshair
> Ram Corsair xm2 DDR2 800 4 gigs (4 sticks 1 gig each )
> PSU Corsair 620HX
> Cards 2 same Foxconn o/c 8800GTX in SLI
> Drives 2 Seagate Barracudas in raid 0
> Optical 2 dvd writers
> Fans 6 case fans running 100%
> Display 24" V7
> Drivers are all up to date. SLI enabled in ntune.
> Bios is up to date on M/B
>
> Ok question is this.:
>
> I have each card hooked up to the PSU with it's own cord. No other items
> draw power off of them. I was wondering is this PSU is enough to power
> them. I have played COD4 max setting 1920 x 1200 and get 70-91 average in
> multiplayer with about 24 players total( these fps are in game not fraps).
> I do see drops to 50 when moving around from time to time. I played for
> about a hour and I haven't had any restarts or glitches. I was told that
> my FPS should stay in the 91. I was told my PSU can run them but not
> correctly. Can any one give some feed back if my system could run these
> cards good. I just installed the second card last week. Crysis FPS is
> about 35 with settings 1920 x 1200 2x anti and Gamer settings.

W????n S.
November 17th 08, 07:33 AM
Not that bad really.

Thanks.
"John" > wrote in message
...
> mmmmm The whole set up at the time I got it was a little over $2000 about
> year and a half now. I just got the 2nd video card from e-bay. @ time I
> couldn't spend the extra 500 bucks for the 2nd card. I shoved everything
> in a old antec server case. This set up now I bet would all most be cut by
> 30 % in cost.......lol got to love it.
> "John" > wrote in message
> ...
>> My set up is this
>> O/S Vista 32 sp1 all hot fixes
>> CPU AMD 6000+ 3.0
>> M/B ASUS Crosshair
>> Ram Corsair xm2 DDR2 800 4 gigs (4 sticks 1 gig each )
>> PSU Corsair 620HX
>> Cards 2 same Foxconn o/c 8800GTX in SLI
>> Drives 2 Seagate Barracudas in raid 0
>> Optical 2 dvd writers
>> Fans 6 case fans running 100%
>> Display 24" V7
>> Drivers are all up to date. SLI enabled in ntune.
>> Bios is up to date on M/B
>>
>> Ok question is this.:
>>
>> I have each card hooked up to the PSU with it's own cord. No other items
>> draw power off of them. I was wondering is this PSU is enough to power
>> them. I have played COD4 max setting 1920 x 1200 and get 70-91 average in
>> multiplayer with about 24 players total( these fps are in game not
>> fraps). I do see drops to 50 when moving around from time to time. I
>> played for about a hour and I haven't had any restarts or glitches. I was
>> told that my FPS should stay in the 91. I was told my PSU can run them
>> but not correctly. Can any one give some feed back if my system could run
>> these cards good. I just installed the second card last week. Crysis FPS
>> is about 35 with settings 1920 x 1200 2x anti and Gamer settings.
>