PDA

View Full Version : Blank screen at boot after installing TNT2 64 AGP.


bob_in_stpete
January 14th 06, 10:57 PM
I have a Mach Speed 694TAS/1.2g Celeron/512m memory.It currently has a
TNT2 64 PCI graphics card.I tried to install a TNT2 64 AGPcard and the
computer starts(hard drive spins up like it is booting)all I get is a
blank screen.Power light on the monitor goes from green to yellow.

Brent
January 14th 06, 11:39 PM
try putting the old card in and boot it up if it works then go into ur bios
and change first init dislpay to agp and see if it works
"bob_in_stpete" > wrote in message
ups.com...
>I have a Mach Speed 694TAS/1.2g Celeron/512m memory.It currently has a
> TNT2 64 PCI graphics card.I tried to install a TNT2 64 AGPcard and the
> computer starts(hard drive spins up like it is booting)all I get is a
> blank screen.Power light on the monitor goes from green to yellow.
>

Jester
January 14th 06, 11:42 PM
Does the machine post? (beep on bootup) If not theres something seriously
wrong.
The obvious would be to pull the card out and reinstall it. I don't want to
teach you to suck eggs but is it seated properly? Sometimes you have to push
so hard I think I'm going to break the boards.
There are also different versions of AGP, and they aren't all compatable,
but as you are using the agp version of the existing card thats probably not
it.
Is the card new or 2nd hand? Do you know it works?

J.


"bob_in_stpete" > wrote in message
ups.com...
>I have a Mach Speed 694TAS/1.2g Celeron/512m memory.It currently has a
> TNT2 64 PCI graphics card.I tried to install a TNT2 64 AGPcard and the
> computer starts(hard drive spins up like it is booting)all I get is a
> blank screen.Power light on the monitor goes from green to yellow.
>

bob_in_stpete
January 15th 06, 04:01 AM
Did that.The old PCI card works fine.Changed the order to AGP
first.Nothing seems to work.I think it may be the card.

bob_in_stpete
January 15th 06, 04:01 AM
No beep that I can think of.Computer works fine with the PCI version of
the same card.Not sure the card works.It came from a tower I got for
parts.

Brent
January 15th 06, 11:28 AM
u may aswell cut ur losses and stick with pci untill u upgrade
"bob_in_stpete" > wrote in message
oups.com...
> Did that.The old PCI card works fine.Changed the order to AGP
> first.Nothing seems to work.I think it may be the card.
>